Traffic Penalties
The New Jersey Traffic Code is the statutory body that governs traffic violations in New Jersey. If you are fighting a traffic ticket, or recently received a ticket, it is helpful to learn about your alleged violation and options. An experienced traffic ticket attorney can help you understand the potential impact of your violation and formulate a strategy to obtain dismissal of the ticket or minimize the potential harmful effects of a conviction.

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Points System

Different traffic violations carry different points, with the more serious violations carrying more points.  Points assessed on single tickets can range anywhere from 2 to 8 points, however it is not uncommon to received multiple tickets during a single traffic stop.
If you accrue 6 points or more within a 3 year timeframe, you will be required to pay surcharges to the State. If you receive 12 or more points, your license will be suspended. Points on your license will also result in increased insurance premiums since your insurance carrier will now consider you a higher risk driver to insure.

The New Jersey Point System

The New Jersey Points System contains a detailed list of every possible violation, but a few of the most common infractions are:

Point Violations

Non-Point Violations

Fines for Traffic Violations

Traffic violations carry monetary fines that are set by statute and account for the seriousness of the specific violation. In addition, when you receive 6 or more points on your license within a three-year period, you will pay to the State a surcharge of $150, plus $25 for each additional point over 6. Some specific violations also carry their own separate and additional surcharges as well:

  • $100 for driving with an expired license or no license at all ($300 total)
  • $250 for driving with a license that has been suspended ($750 total)
  • $100 for operating an uninsured moped ($300 total)
  • $250 for driving an uninsured vehicle ($750 total)
  • $1,000 for first and second (DWI) driving while intoxicated ($3,000 total)
  • $1,500 for your third DWI (if it occurs within three years last offense) ($4,500 total)
  • $1,000 for refusing to take a blood alcohol test ($3,000 total)

Hiring the Right Attorney Can Help

The experienced Bergen County Traffic Lawyers at The Reinartz Law Firm can help you understand your alleged traffic violation, explain your rights and work with you to determine the best possible strategy to lessen the harmful effects of a conviction. Call today for a free consultation.

See Also

Commercial Traffic Violations